Guide to Reference Sources in Literature

PRINTER FRIENDLY VERSION (PDF)

This guide to reference materials is designed to help you as you begin research on predominantly English Language Literature topics.  All books are reference materials found on the main floor of the library.  Some digital reference is also available.

This guide provides several different approaches to finding valuable reference materials on your chosen topic of research.
1.)     Subject Searches
        Subject Searches are bolded terms
Performing a subject search in a catalog allows you to access all the titles pertaining to a particular area of study.   In order to limit your search to a particular collection and location when using CLICNet (Berntsen Library’s consortium catalog), perform an “advanced search.”  For example, use “reference collections” as your collection and “Northwestern” as your “library building” location. 

2.)     Dewey Decimal Numbers

        Also included in the guide are Dewey Decimal system numbers.  Our library is organized according to this format, and it is often times helpful to “browse” the reference collection using the “number” assigned to your area of research.  For example, browsing the reference section’s “423 section”    will allow you to see what English language dictionaries are available.  Browsing is also recommended when you have already found a helpful resource.  Works similar to the already        identified book will be located in the same area.

3.)     Annotated Examples

Lastly, this guide contains brief annotations of representative works (includes title and Dewey Decimal location) found within the reference collection.  Remember, however, that the reference collection changes and this is in no way a comprehensive look at what is available.

As already stated, this guide is in not a comprehensive list of available resources.  Using the online catalog to identify additional reference sources, as well as books and journals in the general collection and using the databases provided by the library will round out your research.

Click on these links to move within the guide.
______________________________________________________________________________________

General Guides * American & British Literature - Chaucer - Milton - Shakespeare * Plot Summaries* Finding Poem, Plays, and Short Stories
* Finding Book Reviews * General Bibliographies and Critical Studies - novels - drama - short stories - poetry - mulitple genre
Print Indexes * Online Indexes * Electronic Reference Books * Literary Assessment Exam Terms

1. General Guides

Dictionaries and Thesauri of the English Language

English Language Dictionaries
Browse the Reference Section at 423

Example:
The Oxford English Dictionary aka “The OED” 10 v.
R 423 M96, Ed. 2

A highly detailed dictionary, OED definitions provide a history of every English word in use since 1150 with dated examples from literature and other published documents to show the evolution of meaning for a given word.  Useful for understanding the literal and figurative meaning of a word at the time the work in which it appears was written. 

English Language Slang Dictionaries
Browse the Reference Section at 427

Example:
New Dictionary of American Slang (1986)
R 427.09 C367

Covers primarily 20th century American slang with date ranges for use of the word and examples from published documents.

English language -- Synonyms and antonyms
Browse the Reference Section at 424

Example:

Roget's International Thesaurus 5th ed.  (1992)
R 424 M44 Ed.5 

Useful for identifying synonyms and other related words and phrases.  Words are grouped according to the ideas they express.  Use the index to locate the main entry.  Note that Roget's Thesaurus, as well as many other synonym dictionaries, is also published in an alphabetical dictionary format.

Literary Dictionaries and Handbooks


Literature Dictionaries
Examples:

Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia (1996)
R 803 B43 Ed. 4     

Worldwide coverage of authors, major works with plot summaries, literary characters, literary allusions and references, literary schools and movements, and literary terms.

Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature 2nd ed.  (1980)
R 803 C723 

Covers Western and Eastern European authors from the end of the 19th century to the present.  Includes brief bibliographies.  Longer articles provide overviews of various national literatures.

Other more specific Literary Dictionary and Handbook “Subject Searches” include:

African literature -- Dictionaries
African Literature Encyclopedias

Example:

African Literature and Its Times
R 896 M855 

Volume 2 of the series World Literature and Its Times: Profiles of Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events That Influenced Them. This volume selects African literary works from a range of time periods and genres and discusses the work, events in history at the time the work takes place, and events in history at the time the work was written. Each article has a bibliography for further reading. A parallel chronology of literary and historical events is provided.

Children's literature -- Dictionaries

Example:

Oxford Companion to Children's Literature
R 809.89282 C226

Biographical sketches of authors and illustrators, plot summaries of major works, characters, fairy tales, folklore, adolescent literature, and other topics.  Worldwide coverage.

Classical literature -- Dictionaries.

Example:

Oxford Companion to Classical Literature 2nd ed. 
R 913.38 H837  

Covers ancient Greek and Roman world and literature.  Entries on authors, works, plot summaries of epic poems and plays, literary forms, social and political context of classical period, Greek and Roman mythology, maps, and parallel chronology of political and literary events.

Drama Dictionaries

Example:

Critical Survey of Drama 8 v.  (1994)
R 809.2 C869 2003 

Overview of English language drama of all periods.  Author entries of 5-6 pages include a list of plays and other literary works, achievements, a biographical sketch, analysis of dramatic work, and a brief bibliography.  A glossary of dramatic terms and movements plus 24 essays on topics such as national drama, musicals, radio drama, and periods of drama are in v. 7. 

French Literature Dictionaries

Example:

Guide to French Literature 2 v.
R 840.3 L678

Life-and-works format. Includes a bibliography for each entry.  Volume 1 covers the beginning to 1789. Volume 2 covers 1789 to the present.

Irish literature – Dictionaries
Literature – Terminology
Literature- Terminology Dictionaries

Examples:

Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory 3rd ed. (1991)
R 803 C893   

Comprehensive dictionary of literary terms which are in regular use in the world today. Categories include technical terms, themes, forms, genres, movements, and –isms.

A Glossary of Contemporary Literary Theory
R 801.95 H318      

This glossary contains terms relevant to today’s literary critic.  Entry examples include terminology in the area of gender politics, Queer Theory and Masculinity Studies. New terms include: 'faghag/fagstag character', 'lavender language', 'cross dressing', 'outing', 'code switching' and 'transgender.’

Women authors – Dictionaries

Example:

The Bloomsbury guide to women's literature
R 809.89287 B623 

Provides information about women writers from every country in the world, past and present.  Also includes essays concerning women's writing by region, historical period, and theories in feminist literary criticism.

______________________________________________________________________________________

General Guides * American & British Literature - Chaucer - Milton - Shakespeare * Plot Summaries* Finding Poem, Plays, and Short Stories
* Finding Book Reviews * General Bibliographies and Critical Studies - novels - drama - short stories - poetry - mulitple genre
Print Indexes * Online Indexes * Electronic Reference Books * Literary Assessment Exam Terms
Back to Top

2. Guides to American and British Literature

Guides to American Literature

American Fiction
“American Fiction” focuses on twentieth century novels and what is considered “popular”
Other more specific American Fiction subject subdivisions include:

American fiction- Dictionaries. 
American fiction –History and Criticism
Authors, American -- Biography
Children's stories, American -- Dictionaries. 
American Literature Chronology
American literature
Browse the Reference Section at 810

Other more specific American Literature subject subdivisions include:

American literature -- African American authors -- Encyclopedias
African Americans in literature -- Encyclopedias
African literature -- History and criticism

Example:

Oxford Companion to African American Literature 
R 810.9896 Ox2a  

Comprehensive reference volume devoted to the texts and the historical and cultural contexts of African American literature. Arranged alphabetically, essays handle topics such as prominent literary characters, non-writers who influenced African American literature, movements, and biographies of writers.

American literature -- Bibliography

Example:

Bibliography of American literature v. 4- v. 9
R 810.9 B471

Arranged alphabetically, this reference volume provides a bibliography of works written.

American literature -- Bio-bibliography.

Examples:

Oxford Companion to American Literature 6th ed.
R 810.9 H251c

Covers all periods and genres of American literature.  Very brief entries on authors, plot summaries and subjects.  Parallel chronology of American literary and social history.

Reference Guide to American Literature 3rd ed.
R 810.9 R259 Ed. 3     

This tool contains a listing of bibliographies, general histories and critical studies updated to include a variety of ethnic American voices. 

American literature -- History and criticism.

Examples:

Cambridge History of American Literature  
R 810.9 C144

The History offers wide-ranging, interdisciplinary accounts of American genres and periods. Includes the work of scholars and critics who have shaped, and who continue to shape, this area of literary scholarship.  Chapters are lengthy. Each volume closes with a parallel historical and literary chronology and a bibliography.

Literary History of the United States 3 v. plus supplement
R 810.9 Sp4

Detailed coverage of American literary movements and works from the colonial period to the mid-20th century in the first two volumes with a cumulative index in v. 2.  Extensive bibliography in v. 3 is updated by the supplement, providing coverage of works published through 1958.

Guides to British Literature

English fiction
“English Fiction” focuses on genre related writing and “popular” works

English literature -- History and criticism
Browse the Reference Section at the 820’s

Examples:

British Writers 8 v. plus supplement
R 820.9 B777

Lengthy (20+ pages) articles on British writers of all genres and all periods include a list of works and a bibliography of critical studies.  Arranged chronologically.

Cambridge History of English Literature 15 v.  (c1917)
R  820.9 C14

Covers all genres of British literature through the 19th century.  Lengthy essays on works, movements, and some major authors.  Arranged chronologically.  Especially good for introduction to earlier and medieval works. 

Irish literature Dictionaries

Dictionary of Irish Literature (1979)
R 820.99415 D561   

Primarily author entries for all periods of Irish literature with some subject entries.  Author entries include list of works and bibliography of critical studies.  Parallel chronology of political and literary events.  Index should be used for effective access

British Literature
English literature
English literature -- Bibliography
Celtic Literature
Popular literature -- Great Britain -- History and criticism
Scottish literature

Chaucer

Chaucer Geoffrey D 1400
Note: There are many materials devoted to Chaucer and his work.  Performing the above subject search will lead you to more specific search terms, including dictionaries, bibliographies, criticism and interpretation.

Examples:            

Chaucer Gazetteer (1961)
R 821.17 M27

Explains geographical names and references in Chaucer's work.

Chaucer Name Dictionary (1987)
R 821.17 C39yDe

Explains the source and meaning of astrological, biblical, historical, literary, and mythological names in Chaucer's works.  Spellings are taken directly from Chaucer with references to line numbers in several editions of Chaucer's works.

Concordance to the Complete Works of Geoffrey Chaucer...  (1927)
R 821.17 T18c

Based on the 1898 Globe edition of Chaucer's works.  Head-words are in modern English, with quotes in Middle English as in the original text.

Milton

Milton John 1608 1674

Example:

Milton: A bibliography for the years 1624-1700 (1984)
821.4M64Ysh

Concentrating on the said years, this work “tries to bring together all manuscripts and editions of the works and all studies and critical statements concerning Milton’s life and works.”  Entries are arranged first, chronologically.  Entries are then alphabetically arranged within their respective years.

Shakespeare


Shakespeare William 1564 1616

Note: There are myriad materials devoted to Shakespeare and his work.  Performing the above subject search will lead you to more specific search terms, including dictionaries, bibliographies, criticism and interpretation.

Examples:

Complete Dictionary of Shakespeare Quotations (1986)
R 822.33 HB821

Arranged by play or poem with well-known quotations from each work listed in the order in which they appear with text and line references.  Includes a section of quotations about Shakespeare's life and work.  Phrase index.

Dictionary of the Characters and Proper Names in the Works of Shakespeare (1960)
R 822.33 GSt6    

Identifies and explains the context of characters in Shakespeare's plays and poetry whether fictitious or based on historical figures, as well as place names and other historical, mythological, and biblical names appearing in his work. Entries include text and line references.  Appendix of genealogical tables for British historical characters.

New and Complete Concordance . . . in the Dramatic Works of Shakespeare (1896)
R 822.33 GB28

Concordance of words and phrases in Shakespeare's plays with act, scene and line numbers from the 1891 Globe edition of his works.  Separate concordance of Shakespeare's poetry in back.

Shakespeare: A Study and Research Guide   (1995) Ed. 3 Rev.  
R 822.33 AB45    

Purpose is to offer guidance in the formidable collection of Shakespearean criticism and scholarship.  The organization of the book moves from a general understanding of Shakespearean criticism to an investigation of resources to the actual writing of a critical paper.

Shakespeare A to Z (1990)
R 822.33 GB692

Entries on characters and places in Shakespeare's works, leading actors and directors, relevant theatrical and literary terms, Shakespeare's contemporaries, and more.  Play entries include scene-by-scene synopsis, critical commentary, and discussion of sources.

Note: Performing similar subject searches for other canonical authors will often result in similar searches.  Keyword searches may also alert you to an author’s presence in a larger general survey reference work. 

______________________________________________________________________________________

General Guides * American & British Literature - Chaucer - Milton - Shakespeare * Plot Summaries* Finding Poem, Plays, and Short Stories
* Finding Book Reviews * General Bibliographies and Critical Studies - novels - drama - short stories - poetry - mulitple genre
Print Indexes * Online Indexes * Electronic Reference Books * Literary Assessment Exam Terms
Back to Top

 

3. Plot Summaries

Fiction

Literature -- Stories, plots, etc. 

Browse the Reference Section at 803, 808 and 812

Examples:

Masterplots: 1,801 plot stories and critical evaluations of the world's finest literature 10 v.  (1996)
R 803 M27 Rev Ed.2 

Lengthy plot summaries of classics in world literature from ancient times to 1991.  Provides fundamental reference data, plot synopses where applicable, and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of world literature. Each article concludes with an annotated bibliography. Indexes in the back of volume 12 include chronological, geographical, title, and author arrangements.

Cyclopedia of Literary Characters 5 v. Rev. Ed.
R 809.927 C992

A collection of literary characters from works discussed in the Masterplots series, Masterplots Revised Second Edition and the Masterplots II sets (covering African American Literature, Women’s Literature, and American Fiction). Articles are arranged alphabetically by title of work. Characters are then listed in order of importance within each article.  Length of treatment depends on importance.

Also included in the Masterplots collection:

Masterplots II: African American Literature Series (1994)
Masterplots II. American Fiction Series (2000) 
Masterplots II: British And Commonwealth Fiction Series 1987 
Masterplots II: Juvenile And Young Adult Biography Series 1993 
Masterplots II: Nonfiction Series 1989 
Masterplots II. Poetry Series. 2002 
Masterplots II. Short Story Series 1986 
Masterplots II. Women's Literature Series 1995 
Masterplots II: World Fiction Series

Drama

Drama -- Stories, plots, etc. 

Example:

Crown Guide to the World's Great Plays: From Ancient Greece to Modern Times (1984)
R 808.2 Sh6        

Worldwide coverage with an emphasis on American and British drama including full coverage of Shakespeare.  Main author entries are subdivided by play.  Play entries include an introduction to the play, a brief plot synopsis, and an overview of stage and production history.  Title index.

American drama -- Stories, plots, etc.

Example:

Digests of Great American Plays (1961)
R 812.08 L94   

Summaries of 18th to mid-20th century American drama.  Arranged in a chronological fashion.  Use the index to locate plays.

Plots Drama Novel Etc

______________________________________________________________________________________

General Guides * American & British Literature - Chaucer - Milton - Shakespeare * Plot Summaries* Finding Poem, Plays, and Short Stories
* Finding Book Reviews * General Bibliographies and Critical Studies - novels - drama - short stories - poetry - mulitple genre
Print Indexes * Online Indexes * Electronic Reference Books * Literary Assessment Exam Terms
Back to Top

 

4. Finding poems, plays, and short stories

Poetry – Indexes
Browse the Reference Section at 808

Examples:

The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry 10th ed.  (1994)
R 808.8 G76 10th ed.

Index to poems in 405 anthologies published from 1900 to 1985.  Main section is title and first line index with separate author and subject indexes. 

The Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies (2002)
R 808.81 C723     

Contains indexing of poems published through December 31, 2001.  Poems are organized by: ttle, first line, and last line, author and subject.

Drama – Indexes

Play Index 8 v.  (1949-2002)
R 808.82 P698

Each volume indexes plays of all kinds, including children's and puppet plays, published singly or in collections during the years covered in that volume.  Author entries include number of acts and scenes, size and gender of cast, and brief summary of each play.  Cross references by title and subject.

Short stories -- Indexes

Short Story Index 11 v.  (1953-1993)
R 808.83 Sh81 

Entire set covers over 130,000 short stories in collections published from 1900 to 1993 and in periodicals from 1974 to 1993.  Arranged by author with title and subject cross references.  Does not include children's stories, folklore, or stories of two pages or less

______________________________________________________________________________________

General Guides * American & British Literature - Chaucer - Milton - Shakespeare * Plot Summaries* Finding Poem, Plays, and Short Stories
* Finding Book Reviews * General Bibliographies and Critical Studies - novels - drama - short stories - poetry - mulitple genre
Print Indexes * Online Indexes * Electronic Reference Books * Literary Assessment Exam Terms
Back to Top

 

5. Finding Book Reviews

Book form Reference Material

Books – Reviews
Example:

Masterplots Annual Volume (1954-1976)
R 803 M27a 

Annual volumes provide critical essay-reviews of 100 books published in the U.S. during the previous year.  Includes fiction, non-fiction and literary criticism.

Print Indexes  
         Use these indexes to find periodical literature. Please consult a reference librarian for assistance as many print indexes are now in storage.

Literature
Examples:

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1900-present) (Print Index)  

In volumes 1-35, book reviews are listed as a group by title under the subject heading "Book Reviews."  Beginning in 1976 with volume 36, book reviews are arranged by author and listed separately in the back of each issue. 

Humanities Index (1974-present)

Book reviews are arranged by author and listed separately in the back of each issue.

On-line Databases

Access the following resources from the library’s “Database” page to find periodical literature

Academic Search Premier (Database)

Using the “Advanced Search” mode, enter the Title of the book and search in “TI Title”, enter the phrase “book review” and search in “Default Fields” and finally, search the author’s last name in a “Default field. 

Christian Periodical Index (Database)

Before searching, you must change the search limits.  Go to the purple box on the top right hand portion of the page and click “Change”

Once in the selection screen, choose “Document Type” from the menu on the left hand side of the screen.  Then choose “Review” from the options in the selection box.

                

 

 

        Perform your search.

Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography (Database)


______________________________________________________________________________________

General Guides * American & British Literature - Chaucer - Milton - Shakespeare * Plot Summaries* Finding Poem, Plays, and Short Stories
* Finding Book Reviews * General Bibliographies and Critical Studies - novels - drama - short stories - poetry - mulitple genre
Print Indexes * Online Indexes * Electronic Reference Books * Literary Assessment Exam Terms
Back to Top

 

6. General Bibliographies and Critical Studies

If you are writing a paper about a particular author, work, or movement you will need to locate other critical studies in books and/or journals. The best source for critical studies is journal articles or essays in books, both of which tend to be highly focused.  Although some of the handbooks and biographical sources in this guide may provide some references to critical studies in their bibliographies, the most effective way to locate scholarly articles is through subject specific bibliographies and periodical indexes (both print and on-line).

Approaches to finding information include:

  1. Subject bibliographies and indexes which will help you identify critical studies in periodicals and books
  2. Online “Keyword” catalog searches combing the author's name and terms such as BIBLIOGRAPHY, BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHY, and CRITICISM AND INTERPRETATION
  3. Scanning materials you already have for bibliographic information and references

Tips for Using Subject Bibliographies and Periodical Indexes

1.  Always write down everything in the citation.  Include the appropriate Index or Database name, as well.
2.  In subject bibliographies, look for author, title and/or subject indexes, usually located in the back of the book.
4.  Note the major arrangement--alphabetical by author or chronological by literary period.
5.  Some multi-volume sets have a cumulative index in the last or latest volume.  When using an index in a multi-volume set, note whether it is cumulative or for one volume only.
6.  If a periodical title is abbreviated, check the list of abbreviations to get the full title.
7.  If the information for a book citation is incomplete, check the list of books consulted.
8.  Check the Berntsen Library’s “Journal Title Search” program found on the Library’s “Database” page to determine whether or not the Berntsen Library collects the journal in print or digital form.
9. If the Berntsen Library does not have the item you need place an Illiad interlibrary loan request or see a reference librarian.

Finding Information on Novels

Helpful “Subject Searches” include:

Literature History And Criticism
      Literature History And Criticism Periodicals
American Literature History And Criticism
      American Literature History And Criticism Abstracts Periodicals
English literature Bibliography
English literature – (18th, 19th or 20th) century -- History and criticism.
Fiction- History and Criticism
      Fiction-History and Criticism- Periodicals

Criticism -- Bibliography

Examples:

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
R 801.95 J622     

Provides essay-length overviews of critics, schools, movements, and national and ethnic groups important to the study of literary theory and criticism

American Novel 1789-1959 (1961)
R 016.813 G32

Bibliography of critical studies of American novelists in books and periodicals published from 1900 to 1960.  Entries for major authors include general criticism and subdivisions by novel.

English Novel Explication 1 v. plus 5 suppl.  (1973-present)
R 823.009 P182                 

British novelists of all periods are covered in each of the volumes.  Use the author and title index in the back of each volume to locate entries.  Taken together, the main volume and supplements to date cover critical studies published from 1958 to the present.

For Drama

Helpful “Subject Searches” include:
Drama -- History and criticism. 
Drama -- Bio-bibliography. 
Dramatists -- Biography. 
Examples:

Bibliography of Medieval Drama (1954)
R 016.80882 St8                

Covers primarily British medieval drama with some coverage of French, German and Spanish medieval drama.  Excellent section on Everyman. 

Drama Criticism 16 v. (1991-present)
R 809.2 D79                        

Covers significant dramas from the world’s literature

Early English Drama, Everyman to 1580 (1986)
R 822.209 W582

Bibliography of critical studies of British drama to the 16th century.  Author, title and subject index.

International Dictionary of Theatre 2 v. (1994)
R 792.03 In8h                     

Volume 1: Plays. Volume 2: Playwrights. Scope of the Dictionary is historical and international. Entries for the plays contain publication and production information, a chronological listing of books and articles about the play, and a critical essay on the play. Entries for the playwrights contain a summary of the writer’s life and career, a list of works by the entrant, a list of publications about the entrant, a critical overview of the entrant’s work for the stage.

For Short Stories

Helpful “Subject Searches” include:
Short story
Short Story Periodicals
Short Story Indexes
Examples:

Short Story Criticism 50 v.  (1988-present)
R 809.31 Sh81h                 

Presents significant passages from criticism of the world’s greatest short story writers and provides supplemental biographical and bibliographical material. Cumulative index includes references to companion series, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC).

Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication New series: with checklists of books and journals used 
R 809.31 W15   
Volume 1. 1989-1990
Volume 2. 1991-1992
Volume 3. 1993-1994
Volume 4. 1995-1996
Volume 5. 1997-1998
Volume 6. 1999-2000

Bibliography of critical studies of short stories by worldwide authors

For Poetry

Helpful “Subject Searches” include:
American poetry
American poetry -- Explication -- Bibliography
English poetry- Explication
English poetry -- Explication -- Bibliography
Poetry -- History and criticism – Periodicals
Examples:

Guide to American Poetry Explication 2 v.  (1989)
R 811.009 G941                 

Volume 1 covers colonial and 19th century American poets and updates their coverage in Poetry Explication by adding critical studies published from 1978 through 1987.  Volume 2 includes all critical studies through 1987 of 20th century poets.

Guide to British Poetry Explication 4 v. (1991)
R 821.009 M366

Surveys interpretations of primarily English-language poetry in journals and books. Periods of coverage for the four volumes are as follows: v. 1 Old English—Medieval, v. 2 Renaissance, v. 3 Restoration—Romantic, v. 4 Victorian—Contemporary.

Poetry Criticism 38 v. (1991-present)
R 809.1 P752

Subtitle reads as follows: Excerpts from criticism of the works of the most significant and widely studied poets of world literature.  Entries include biographical and bibliographical material, principal works, commentary, and criticism. Title index. Cumulative author index includes references to companion series, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC).

Poetry Explication 3rd ed.  (1980)
R 016.821 AR5

Bibliography of critical studies of works by British and American poets of all periods.  Critical studies in books and periodicals published from 1925 to 1977.

______________________________________________________________________________________

General Guides * American & British Literature - Chaucer - Milton - Shakespeare * Plot Summaries* Finding Poem, Plays, and Short Stories
* Finding Book Reviews * General Bibliographies and Critical Studies - novels - drama - short stories - poetry - mulitple genre
Print Indexes * Online Indexes * Electronic Reference Books * Literary Assessment Exam Terms
Back to Top

 

For a variety of literary forms

Helpful “Subject Searches” include:
American fiction -- Bio-bibliography
American literature -- History and criticism
American literature -- Asian American authors -- Bibliography
American literature -- Indian authors -- Bio-bibliography
American literature -- Women authors -- Bio-bibliography
Authors, American -- 20th century -- Bio-bibliography. 
Authors, English -- 20th century -- Bio-bibliography
Children's stories, American -- Bio-bibliography -- Dictionaries
Criticism United States Bio Bibliography
English Literature- Bibliography
English literature -- History and criticism. 
Literature, Modern -- Bio-bibliography. 
Examples:

African American Writers 2 v.  (2001)
R 810.9896 Af85                 

A critical anthology. Articles generally contain a biographical overview, a survey of the author’s principal writings, and an assessment of the work as a whole. Each article has a selected bibliography of the author’s writings and a bibliography of biography and criticism for further research.

Articles on American Literature 2 v.  (1954, 1979)
R 810.9 Ar78

Bibliography of critical studies of American authors of all genres and periods.  Each volume arranged alphabetically by author but not subdivided by work.  Articles in v. 1 were published from 1900-1950; articles in v. 2 from 1968-1975.  The Berntsen Library does not have the volume covering studies published from 1951-1967.

Asian American Literature (1999)
R 810.9895 As42t

Subtitle reads, “Reviews and Criticism of Works by American Writers of Asian Descent.” Writers were chosen from a variety of genres and historical periods. Articles include an introduction to the author, a list of major works, reviews and criticism, and a bibliography for further reading.

Bibliography of Comparative Literature (1950)
R 016.809 B19

Covers books and articles in English, French and German about the influence of major authors in world literature of all periods to the mid-20th century on other authors and their works.  Arranged loosely by major period.  No index.  Use the contents to locate authors within a time period, style or genre, or to follow a particular theme.

Black Literature Criticism 3 v. plus suppl. (1992, 1999)
R 809.8896 B565               

Subtitle reads, Excerpts from Criticism of the Most Significant Works of Black Authors Over the Past 200 Years. Presents a broad selection of the best criticism. Each author entry includes biographical information, a list of principal works, and a historical survey of critical responses to the author’s works. Entries are listed alphabetically.

Contemporary Authors Bibliographical Series 3 v.  (1986-present)
R 928 C76b

Each volume in the series covers important writers since World War II in the U.S. and abroad.  First three volumes cover the American novel (v. 1), American poetry (v. 2), and American drama (v. 3).  Extensive bibliographies with a bibliographic essay which summarizes and compares the studies.  Cumulative index.

Critical Perspective: 20th-Century Criticism of Brit. and Am. Lit. to 1904 11 v. (1985)
R 820.9 C869

This 10-volume set plus index supplement reproduces modern critical studies of 296 English-language authors in all genres whose major work predates 1904.  Entries include brief biographical sketch.  Essays are chosen to be representative of modern critical thought, to juxtapose different interpretations of an author's work, and to provide access to critical "experiments" of current scholars.  Coverage of Shakespeare includes essays on each play.  Each volume covers a specific time period.  Index volume must be used to locate author entries.  Index volume also includes index to critics and complete list of published works for each author.

Hispanic Literature Criticism 2 v. plus 2 suppl. (1994, 1999)
R 860.9 H625k

Includes a broad selection of the best criticism of works by major Hispanic writers of the past one hundred years. Organization of author entries include biographical introduction, list of principal works, criticism, explanatory notes, and a further reading list. Indexes are arranged by author, nationality, and title.  Supplements increase coverage to writers from the past four centuries.

Modern Black Writers   2 v.  (1978) ( Supplement 1, 1995) 
R 809.8896 M72

Brief excerpts of critical studies of fiction, poetry and drama by 20th century black authors in the U.S., Africa, and Caribbean.  Index to critics, many of whom are black.

Native North American Literature (1994)
R 810.9897 N213

Subtitle reads as follows: Biographical and Critical Information on Native Writers and Orators from the United States and Canada from Historical Times to the Present. Arranged alphabetically within parts. Part I covers orators. Part II covers writers. Each entry includes basic personal data, major works, and criticism. Bibliographies are sometimes included.

New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature 5 v.  (1969-1977)
R 820.16 N42

Covers British literature of all genres from 600 to 1950.  Arranged chronologically.  Entries for major authors include a complete list of works, a bibliography of biographical sources, and a lengthy bibliography of critical studies which are not subdivided by work.  Includes sections for period and genre studies, religion, travel and sports.

Reference Guide to English Literature 2nd ed.   3 v.  (1991)
R 820.3 R259

Includes entries on writers from Britain, Ireland, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and English-speaking Africa, Asia, and the Caribbean. The entry for each writer includes a complete list of the writer’s published books, a selected list of bibliographies and critical studies on the writer, and a signed critical essay.

Reference Guide to Russian Literature   (1998)
R 891.703 R259

Intended to be a wide-ranging guide to the main writers of Russian literature and to their best-known works. Covers the Kievan period to the post-communist writing of the Russian Federation, though more heavily focused on the 19th and 20th centuries. Entries consist of a biographical sketch of the writer, plus a list of the writer’s primary works, and a selected list of bibliographies and critical studies on the author. The Guide also includes 13 introductory essays covering most periods, topics, and genres of Russian literature, an historical chronology, a glossary, a general reading list, and an index.

Twentieth-Century American Literature 7 v. plus index (1985)
R 810.9 T918

Covers modern authors from the U.S. and Canada in all genres.  Arranged alphabetically by author.  Entries include brief biographical sketch with excerpts and full-length essays and critical studies on the author's personal life and specific works.  Essays are chosen to represent the multiplicity of modern critical schools and styles.  Brief reading list on authors in the back of each volume.  Index supplement includes complete list of works for each author, list of critical essays reproduced for each author, and index to critics.

Twentieth-Century British Literature 5 v. plus index (1985)
R 820.9 T918

Covers modern authors from the United Kingdom and its former colonies in all genres.  Arrangement is similar to Twentieth-Century American Literature.

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism   117 v.  (1978-present)
R 809.04 T918

Excerpts of critical studies of fiction, poetry and drama by authors who died between 1900 and 1960.  Extensive entries of 20+ pages often include a lengthy annotated bibliography of further critical studies.  Cumulative author, title and subject index in latest volume.  One author may be covered in several different volumes, each one focusing on a different work.  Extensive coverage of topics such as the Bloomsbury Group, Harlem Renaissance or surrealism is found in the special topics volumes.

World Literature Criticism: 1500 to the Present.  6 v.  (1992)
R 809 W893

Presents a broad selection of the best criticism of works by major writers of the past 500 years. Each author entry includes biographical information, a list of principal works, a historical survey of critical responses to the author’s works, and sources for further study. Entries are listed alphabetically.  Three indexes arrange entries by author, nationality, and title.

______________________________________________________________________________________

General Guides * American & British Literature - Chaucer - Milton - Shakespeare * Plot Summaries* Finding Poem, Plays, and Short Stories
* Finding Book Reviews * General Bibliographies and Critical Studies - novels - drama - short stories - poetry - mulitple genre
Print Indexes * Online Indexes * Electronic Reference Books * Literary Assessment Exam Terms
Back to Top

Indexes Literature
Please consult a reference librarian for assistance as many print indexes are now in storage. Access the on-line resources from the library’s “Database” page

Print

Abstracts of English Studies (1958-1991)

Abstracts of articles on American, British and other English-language literature.  Arranged by journal title until 1969, and then by time period and genre within each national literature.  Index in each issue with cumulative index in volume 4.

Christian Periodical Index (1956-present)

Includes entries for names of Christian authors.  Articles in Christian periodicals are often not included in other bibliographies and indexes.  This index is also now available online on the networked computers.

Essay and General Literature Index (1948-present)

Indexes essays found in books and other collected works on literary and other topics.  Includes entries for literary terms and concepts as well as individual authors.  Author entries have topical subheadings and sections on individual works.

Humanities Index (1974-present)

Includes entries for literary terms and concepts as well as individual authors.  Extensive cross references to additional terms.  Preceded by Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-1974) and International Index (1946-1965).

MLA International Bibliography (1973-present)
015.73 M72

Indexes critical studies in books and periodicals that were published in the year shown on the volume.  Berntsen Library has the volume for national literatures (arranged by century within each national literature and subdivided by author and work) and linguistics. 

On-Line

Academic Search Premier (1984-present)

Online index covering over 2000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, including a number of literary journals.  Includes entries for literary terms and concepts as well as individual authors.  Some articles are available full-text.

MLA International Bibliography

This index “provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.”

Christian Periodical Index 

Includes entries for names of Christian authors.  Articles in Christian periodicals are often not included in other bibliographies and indexes. 

______________________________________________________________________________________

General Guides * American & British Literature - Chaucer - Milton - Shakespeare * Plot Summaries* Finding Poem, Plays, and Short Stories
* Finding Book Reviews * General Bibliographies and Critical Studies - novels - drama - short stories - poetry - mulitple genre
Print Indexes * Online Indexes * Electronic Reference Books * Literary Assessment Exam Terms
Back to Top


7. Electronic Reference Books

Online Reference/ E-books
Access these resources through Oxford Reference Online or by a title search on CLICnet.

The Concise Oxford companion to American literature
The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature
The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
Concise Oxford companion to the English language 
The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature  
The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature
The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre
Oxford Companion to African American Literature  
Oxford Companion to American Literature
Oxford Companion to Australian Literature
Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature
Roget's Thesaurus by Roget
Notable American Novelists

Oxford Reference Online

Access via Northwestern College Databases Page under “General Reference” Titles
Select “Oxford Reference Online” for access to:

 

______________________________________________________________________________________

General Guides * American & British Literature - Chaucer - Milton - Shakespeare * Plot Summaries* Finding Poem, Plays, and Short Stories
* Finding Book Reviews * General Bibliographies and Critical Studies - novels - drama - short stories - poetry - mulitple genre
Print Indexes * Online Indexes * Electronic Reference Books * Literary Assessment Exam Terms
Back to Top

8. Literary Assessment Exam Terms

Affective fallacy
Allegory
Alliteration
Allusion
Anachronism
Anagnorisis
Antagonist
Anticlimax
Aporia
Apostrophe
Archetype
     •Collective Unconscious
Aside
Assonance
Ballad
     •  Ballad stanza
Bard
     •  Scop
     •  Minstrel
     •  Troubadour
Binary Opposites
Blank verse
Cacophony/Euphony
Caesura
Canon
Carpe diem
Catharsis
Character
    •  Flat
     •  Round
     •  Stock
Close reading
     •  Explication de texte
Comedy
Conceit
Conflict
Consonance
Convention
Courtly love
Deconstruction
Decorum
Deus ex machina
Didacticism
Differance

Elegy
End-stopped line
Enjambment
Epic
     •  Mock epic
Epigram
Epitaph
Epithet
Farce
Feet
    •  Anapestic
     •  Dactylic
     •  Iambic
     •  Trochaic
Figurative language
     •  Hyperbole
     •  Metaphor
     •  Metonymy
     •  Personification
     •  Simile
     •  Synecdoche
Flashback
Foil
Foreshadowing
Free verse
Freytag’s Triangle
     •  Exposition
     •  Rising action
     •  Climax
     •  Falling action
     •  Catastrophe
     •  Denouement
Hegemony
Hero
     •  Anti-hero
Heroic couplet
Hubris
Ideology
Implied reader
     •  Implied author
In medias res
Intentional fallacy
Interpretive Communities

Irony
     •  Dramatic
     •  Situational
     •  Verbal
Line length
     • Monometer
     •  Dimeter
     •  Trimeter
     •  Tetrameter
     •  Pentameter
     •  Hexameter
     •  Heptameter
     •  Octameter
Local color
Logocentric
Lyric
Marxism
Monologue
     •  Dramatic
     •  Interior
     •  Soliloquy
Motif
Myth
Narrator
Ode
Onomatopoeia
Ottava rima
Paradox
Pastoral
Persona
Point of view
     •  1st person
     •  3rd person
     •  limited omniscient
     •  omniscient
     •  stream of consciousness
Prosody
Protagonist
Rhyme
     •  Feminine
     •  Internal
     •  Masculine
Romance

Satire
     •  Parody
Scansion
Setting
Sign
     •  Signified
     •  Signifier
Speech Act Theory
Sonnet